How will Alisha vote?

March 30, 2010 Alisha
Tags: , , , , , , ,

In the battle for the nations next leader I decided to see who could win my most important vote. I am going to look at how the parties and their leaders try to get my attention and what mediums they use to do this. By the end of this journey I will, hopefully, be able to reveal who I will vote for, or indeed, who I actually voted for.

To do this I would like all my fellow voters out there to let me know what they think about voting and about the blogs that I post, let me know about your experiences and leave me lots of juicy comments over the coming weeks! 🙂

At the moment my view is to just vote for Labour again; better the devil you know?! Perhaps I will vote as I did last time… for a smaller party?

The problem is that we have parties like the BNP having their say now and they seem to be gaining acceptance across the board! It’s all very confusing and quite frankly potentially scary…what do you think? Let me know! I’m eager to hear…

My first instalment is to look at a brief history into politics and the media. I watched a documentary recently and thought that it was interesting how things have changed! ‘Americanization of politics’ is what it will be called… until then, this is Alisha blogging off! (I know…cheesy!) 😉

Entry Filed under: Who will Alisha vote for?

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rifat and the gr8 1  |  March 30, 2010 at 6:17 pm

    Hi alisha,I think that sometimes simply voting for the same old same leads to stagnation. what we need is rejuvenation. you know the old adage ‘if you always do what you always did, then you always get what you always got!!!!!!!’ I would suggest giving someone else a chance (not just the two main competitors but maybe a third option)…….. we will see

    • 2. Who will Alisha vote for?  |  March 30, 2010 at 8:10 pm

      Hello,

      Thank you for your comments. I do agree with you, we need to make a change for a change to occur, my concern is that if we vote for who we want we are opening the gateways for the ‘radical’ thinking parties out there! Alot to think about, hope to here from you soon!

      Alisha.

  • 3. Muhammad  |  March 31, 2010 at 1:25 pm

    People normally dislike change because of the shear fear of not knowing what it might bring along!! But the fact of the matter is that sometimes this change is immensely necessary not just for the public but also for the polititions to change their norms and try to offer more to the public and the country.

    Having said that, I am not a big fan of any of the political parties around so I will perhaps save my vote untill I come across a well deserving party. And for that I will have to wait…

  • 4. Claudia  |  March 31, 2010 at 7:57 pm

    Hi Alisha, thank you for opening this blog. I am a foreign student in the UK, from Italy, therefore this will be the first time for me to follow british elections in close-up. I hope things will get more clear for me during the elections campaigns.
    Italy has just undergone local elections and the small parties achieved great results. let’s see 🙂

    • 5. Alisha  |  April 1, 2010 at 10:33 am

      Hello Claudia,

      Thank you for your comments.

      I am glad to hear about the positive outcome of the local elections in Italy, hopefully this will be a sign of things to come; both here and in Italy. As far as the elections in England are concerned, i’m not sure just how different they are from Italy but it would be interesting to look at the differences between the elections, maybe you could be my ‘eye’ on the ground in the political environment in both countries? And let us know the difference or indeed the similarities?

      Hope to hear from you soon!

      Alisha. 🙂

  • 6. Ch  |  April 1, 2010 at 9:13 am

    Alisha – we first of all must recognise that we all MUST vote otherwise there is no room to complain when things go wrong as they now have. As for who to vote for I think we fall into two camps: either it is part of who we are ie. Tory or Labour; or alternatively we attach ourselves to a particular policy and generally do not waver in support of that party’s policy.
    I am sure most people already do know who they will vote for – I am just hoping for a change! 🙂

    • 7. Alisha  |  April 1, 2010 at 9:55 pm

      Hi Ch,

      I completely agree, we do have the right to vote but I also think that we have a responsibility to vote.
      I think that the reason people already know who they are voting is because they don’t necessarily care about the outcome of the results; they vote because they have to vote, not because they want to, however I am hoping that the electorate will start to ask more questions and demand more answers.
      I do however feel optimistic about the election because I feel the new generation is starting to take more of an interest in politics compared to my generation and although there are some tactics that I don’t agree with, I do like the fact that the public has been given the opportunity to ask questions about issues that are important to them. I think that politicians have had the power too long and it is time for the balance to shift back into the hands of the voters.

  • 8. SAUSAN ELOBEID  |  April 20, 2010 at 4:15 pm

    Hi Alisha, great blog, with great opinions and views.Its encouraging to see a lot of you people our age who are taking an interest in the election and wanting to contribute to improve and support our government.

    I am not a big fan of any of the political parties, and I will be giving it a really long and hard consideration before I cast my vote.

    However, thats can’t be done if everyone expressed therir views….but Not Vote. Its imperative that no one miss out on voting, so we can support the party that we believe will bring on positive change and improvement to this country’s policies and to the people.

  • 9. Alisha  |  April 21, 2010 at 12:54 am

    Hi Sausan. Thank you for your comments! :-)I agree with you, we need to take careful consideration when casting our vote this year. This country is in a lot of mess both home and abroad and we need someone who is going to be an asset to this country!
    I hope that everyone votes and I hope to hear from you again. Let me know what you think about my other post; ‘Cameron, Nick or Brown?’

    Hope to hear from you soon…Alisha. 😉

  • 10. Jon  |  April 23, 2010 at 3:35 pm

    I generally dont know enough about politics to actually know whats going on. Tbh they can say what they want my opinion of it is never going to change, people always tell me that if i dont vote im not allowed to complain 🙂 that is fine by me i never have done and never will :). I am expecting to get flamed now for saying that but meh politics is not my cup ‘o’ tea :).

    Jon

    • 11. Alisha  |  April 24, 2010 at 2:41 pm

      I understand your apathy towards voting but you can’t not vote. When you have got parties like UKIP and the BNP around every vote counts. You may not think that you can make a difference but every person that thinks like you do is allowing these other parties a platform to talk on. There are a lot of people starting to vote for these parties now. My advice; it’s a case of picking the lesser of two evils. Go for someone like the Lib Dems or Labour. You may be thinking that there is no way that the BNP will get into power but your wrong, they are trying to win seats in Parliment, not win the election and this they can easily do. As soon as they get seats in Parliment they can influence decisions that are made and it gets them closer and closer to getting what they want! So just have a think about it and let me know what you think!
      Thanks for your comments. Look forward to hearing from you soon! 😉

  • 12. trickygirl  |  April 24, 2010 at 7:22 pm

    Some really good points here 🙂

    The reasons people vote for a particular candidate are an interesting aspect of all this. They might vote for the candidate who promises to deal with local issues, or because they support that particular party. Or in a tactical attempt to remove the sitting MP. Or because that candidate is the lesser of however many evils in the view of the voter. You can vote for a candidate and his or her policies, or against a candidate (the ‘Anyone but the BNP’ principle). It is, indeed, all very confusing!

    • 13. Alisha  |  April 25, 2010 at 5:16 pm

      It is very true. I know myself that I am looking at the three main parties so that people such as the BNP do not have a chance. I wanted to vote for a party like the RESPECT party because I agree with their policies, principles and values, but they are too small a party to make a difference. I do have some respect for Birmingham though, they have chased the BNP out of their town. My uncle there was telling me how the Green Party has joined the Respect party in Birmingham and they have stopped the BNP from having any say there. They have also taken them off the voting cards so you can’t vote for them. The RESPECT party has a lot of following there because the girl is an ordinary person who wanted to see change!

      Thankyou for your comments. I hope to hear from you again soon! 🙂

      • 14. Badger  |  May 3, 2010 at 7:29 pm

        Until the BNP is made otherwise, chasing a legitimate party out of town is hardly something to be proud of. If they can’t win an argument against the BNP perhaps they don’t have much to say. Still, why don’t we celebrate it with a lynch mob or two ?

      • 15. Alisha  |  May 6, 2010 at 9:31 am

        All parties have something to say; the question is whether or not what they have to say is worthwhile. Getting into an argument with such parties as the BNP is futile, it’s the same principal as the bully in the playground; you ignore them.

        Thank you for your comments.

        Alisha.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Most Recent Posts

 
